Motto: Ut Incepit Fidelis Sic Permanet (‘Loyal she began, loyal she remains’)

Ontario's official tartan was designed in 1965 by Rotex Ltd, but not officially adopted by the province until 2000, when MPP for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound Bill Murdoch introduced the Tartan Act, which received Royal Assent on June 23, 2000.  

The three shades of green represent Ontario's forests and fields; the red, its natives; the blue, its waters; and the white, the sky.  

Ontario is one of the ten provinces of Canada, located in east-central Canada.  The province is named after Lake Ontario, a term thought to be derived from Ontari:io, a Huron (Wyandot) word meaning ‘great lake’, or possibly ‘skanadario’ meaning ‘beautiful water in the Iroquoian languages.  

The borders of Ontario were named in 1867, while its borders were still being formalised, finally being determined in 1889 by the Canada Ontario Boundary Act.  

Choose from one of the Ontario tartans listed below: