Mayo County

Irish Gaelic: Contae Mhaigh Eo  

Motto: Motto: Dia is Muire linn (God and Mary be with us)

Mayo is located in the West of Ireland, in the province of Connacht.  From 1169 the Anglo-Norman colonisation of Ireland began and Mayo came under Norman control in 1235.  This meant the demise of many Gaelic lords, chiefly the O’Connors of Connacht.

During the 1230s the Anglo-Normans and Welsh settled in the county, introducing new families such as Burke, Gibbons, Staunton, Prendergast, Morris, Joyce, Walsh, Barrett, Lynott, Costello, Padden and Price, latterly being assimilated into the Gaelic-Irish communities in the 14th century.  

The most powerful clan to emerge during this time was the MacWilliam Burkes, also known as the MacWilliam lochtar, descended from Sir William Liath de Burgh, who defeated the Gaelic-Irish at the Second Battle of Athenry in 1316.  Protestant settlers from Scotland, England and elsewhere in Ireland, settled in the County in the early 17th century.  Many were killed or fled following the 1641 Rebellion, an attempt by Irish Catholic gentry to seize control of the English Administration.  The Mayo County tartan exists from Viking Technology in 2005; now owned by USA Kilts Inc. US

Choose from one of the Mayo County tartans listed below: